Ronaldo wins FIFA Best Male Player Award

Mata adds More to Common Goal project
October 20, 2017
Cusco excited about growth of beach soccer
October 24, 2017

Ronaldo wins FIFA Best Male Player Award

Real Madrid striker Cristiano Ronaldo was named the world’s best male player Monday at the 2017 Best FIFA Football Awards.

The 32-year-old Portuguese international beat Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Paris Saint-Germain’s Neymar.

“The second consecutive The Best award comes after a superlative season in which he (Ronaldo) won the Spanish league, the FIFA Club World Cup and another UEFA Champions League crown – remarkably finishing as the competition’s leading marksman for the fifth straight season,” said in announcing the award. International captains and managers placed votes for best men’s player that was eventual won by Ronaldo

Ronaldo collects his award from FIFA President Gianni Infantino.

The award ceremony was held at the Palladium Theatre in central London.

Netherlands and Barcelona attacker Lieke Martens was named Best FIFA Women’s Player for 2017.

The best men’s coach award went to Real Madrid’s Zinedine Zidane while the Netherlands’ Sarina Wiegman won in the female coach category.

British Premiere League club Arsenal’s Olivier Giroud won the Puskas award for the best goal, while Scottish club Celtic won the fan award for honoring the club’s ‘Lisbon Lions’ with a display on the 50th anniversary of their 1967 European Cup win.

The Togolese forward of Czech team FC Zbrojovka Brno, Francis Kone, won the Fair Play award.

The Best FIFA Football Awards have been presented annually by world football governing body FIFA since 2016.

Players can’t vote for themselves… and, of course, both Ronaldo and Messi refused to vote for each other, instead naming team-mates in their top three.

As Portugal captain, Ronaldo voted for Luka Modric, Sergio Ramos and Marcelo, while Argentina captain Messi opted for Luis Suarez, Andres Iniesta and Neymar.


The FIFA Best Eleven.

Ronaldo and Messi in London on Monday.

Best Selfie!

Here is the full list of awards:

Men’s Player of the Year: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)

Women’s Player of the Year: Lieke Martens (Netherlands)

Goalkeeper of the Year: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)

Male coach of the year: Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)

Female Coach of the Year: Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands)

Fans of the Year: Celtic

Puskas Best Goal: :Olivier Giroud (Arsenal)

Fair Play Award: Francis Kone

FIFPro Team of the Year: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, Italy) – Dani Alves (Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain, Brazil), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus/Milan, Italy), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid, Spain), Marcelo (Real Madrid, Brazil) – Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona, Spain), Toni Kroos (Real Madrid, Germany), Luka Modrić (Real Madrid, Croatia) – Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, Portugal), Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina), Neymar (Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain, Brazil).