Laventille United collect second place winnings at NFA Awards Ceremony

The Concept of using the GPS and Heart Rate Monitor System in Cricket
March 2, 2018
Miscellaneous Family Takes In World Cup Final Experience
July 20, 2018

Laventille United collect second place winnings at NFA Awards Ceremony

Miscellaneous Laventille United walked away with its second place winnings from the 2017 Northern Football Association at the annual Awards Ceremony held on Wednesday at the Hasely Crawford Stadium VIP Lounge.

Miscellaneous Laventille completed a successful season, finishing second in the Premier Division with player Kareem Charles being named as one of the Top Five players of the of the Year.”

Club CEO Sham Mohammed has also made good his promise to deliver a team bus for the club’s use this season and has maintained that there will be continuing efforts to raise the standards at Laventille United.

“For me it is most satisfying to see the strides made by the club over the past two years. This is a group of young men along with the staff led by Cedric (Hazelwood) that has remained committed and has not given up on hope despite all the ills of society that we are facing today,” Mohammed said.

“Playing football and competing in the NFA is an avenue for these guys to channel their energies into something positive and meaningful which is something that we should all be proud of and touched by in more ways than one. Miscellaneous Marketing will continue to support in whatever way possible as we intend to see the club aim for better and attain higher heights with the intention of securing a better future for the players and trying to make the community a stronger and enjoyable one to be part of,” Mohammed said.

Miscellaneous CEO Sham Mohammed with Juan Mata in England last month.

“I would also like to, on behalf of the Laventille United club, express our gratitude to the Northern Football Association and its President Anthony Harford for their efforts in ensuring we had another well run and successful season,” Mohammed added. Miscellaneous also hosted an awards ceremony for the club in December at which former national midfielder Densill Theobald was the feature speaker.

This year, both RSSR FA and Cultural Roots United have made the step up to the T&T Super League from the NFA.

Inspired by “Player of the Year” Kern Mieres and Darryl John, two of the five “Players of the Year” in the Championship Division were crowned divisional champions and will compete in the 2018 Premier Division this campaign.

The other “Players of the Year” in the Championship Division were Graham Felix (Paramin Scholarz FC), Akil La Borde (Patna/River Estate FC) and Keith Williams, the “Most Goals” awardee of St Ann’s All Stars who netted 27 times in helping his club to second spot ahead of Patna/River Estate.

In the Premier Division, Beetham/Sea Lots-based RSSR Football Academy led by “Most Goals” recipient Jovon Vincent and divisional “Most Valuable Player” Keron Lawrence won the League title and $40,000.

The pair were also among the Premier Division “Five Players of the Year” and were joined by Marlon Carrington (Malta Carib Alcons), Stephon Jack (Cultural Roots United) and Kareem Charles of Miscellaneous Laventille United.

Miscellaneous CEO Sham Mohammed (right) presents Clint Raymond with his award at the Laventille United Awards ceremony in December.


Premier Division League:
1 RSSR Football Academy – $40,000
2 Miscellaneous Laventille United – $20,000
3 St Francois Nationals – $15,000
Most Goals: Jovon Vincent (RSSR FA) – 19 goals

Five Players of the Year: $1,000 per player
Jovon Vincent (RSSR FA), Marlon Carrington (Malta Carib Alcons), Keron Lawrence (RSSR FA), Stephon Jack (Cultural Roots United), Kareem Charles (Miscellaneous Laventille United)

Player of the Year: Keron Lawrence (RSSR FA)

Championship Division
1 Cantaro FC – $30,000
2 St Ann’s All Stars – $20,000
3 Patna/River Estate FC – $10,00
Most Goals: Keith Williams (St Ann’s All Stars) – 27 goals
Five Players of the Year ($500 per player: Graham Felix (Paramin Scholars FC), Akil La Borde (Patna/River Estate FC), Kern Mieres (Cantaro FC), Darryl John (Cantaro FC), Keith Williams (St Ann’s All Stars)
Most Valuable Player: Kern Mieres (Cantaro FC)
Viva Knockout:
1 Cultural United Roots United – $20,000
2 St Francois Nationals – $10,000
Club of the Year: Cantaro FC